visa is a document showing that a person is authorized to enter the territory for which it was issued, subject to permission of an immigration official at the time of actual entry. The authorization may be a document, but more commonly it is a stamp endorsed in the applicant's passport.

Types of visa

  • Transit visa, for passing through the country to a destination outside that country. Validity of transit visas are usually limited by short terms such as 1 to 10 days depending on the size of the country and/or the circumstances of a particular transit itinerary.
  • Airside transit visa, required by some countries for passing through their airports even without going through immigration clearance.
  • Private visa, for private visits by invitation of residents of the country.
  • Tourist visa, for a limited period of leisure travel, no business activities allowed.
  • Business visa, for engaging in commerce in the country. These visas generally preclude permanent employment, for which a work visa would be required.
  • Student visa, which allows its holder to study at an institution of higher learning in the issuing country. Students studying in Algeria, however, are issued tourist visas.
  • Working holiday visa, for individuals traveling between nations offering a working holiday program, allowing young people to undertake temporary work while traveling.
  • Temporary worker visa, for approved employment in the host country. These are generally more difficult to obtain but valid for longer periods of time than a business visa. Examples of these are the United States' H-1B and L-1 visas.
  • Spousal visa or partner visa, granted to the spouse, civil partner or de facto partner of a resident or citizen of a given country, in order to enable the couple to settle in that country.
  • Marriage visa, granted for a limited period prior to intended marriage or civil partnership based on a proven relationship with a citizen of the destination country. For example, a German woman who wishes to marry an American man would obtain a Fiancee Visa (also known as a K-1 visa) to allow her to enter the United States. "A K1 Fiancee Visa is valid for four months from the date of its approval."[6]
  • Immigrant visa, granted for those intending to immigrate to the issuing country. They usually are issued for a single journey as the holder will, depending on the country, later be issued a permanent resident identification card which will allow the traveler to enter to the issuing country an unlimited number of times. (for example, the United States Permanent Resident Card).
  • Pensioner visa (also known as retiree visa or retirement visa), issued by a limited number of countries (Australia, Argentina, Thailand, Panama, etc.), to those who can demonstrate a foreign source of income and who do not intend to work in the issuing country. Age limits apply in some cases.
  • Diplomatic visa (sometimes official visa), is normally only available to bearers of diplomatic passports.
  • Courtesy visa issued to representatives of foreign governments or international organizations who do not qualify for diplomatic status but do merit expedited, courteous treatment - an example of this is Australia's Special purpose visa.
  • Journalist visa, which some countries require of people in that occupation when traveling for their respective news organizations. Countries which insist on this include Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, the United States (I-visa) and Zimbabwe.


Visa refusal

A visa may be denied for a number of reasons, some of which being that the applicant:

  • has committed fraud or misrepresentation in his or her application
  • has a criminal record or has criminal charges pending
  • is considered to be a threat to national security
  • cannot prove to have strong ties to their current country of residence
  • intends to reside or work permanently in the country she/he will visit if not applying for an immigrant or work visa respectively
  • does not have a legitimate reason for the journey
  • has no visible means of sustenance
  • does not have travel arrangements (i.e. transport and lodging) in the destination country
  • does not have a health/travel insurance valid for the destination and the duration of stay
  • does not have a good moral character
  • is applying on excessively short notice
  • had their previous visa application(s) rejected and cannot prove that the reasons for the previous denials no longer exist or are not applicable any more
  • is a citizen of a country to which the destination country is hostile
  • has previously visited, or intends to visit, a country to which the destination country is hostile
  • has a communicable disease, such as tuberculosis
  • has previous visa/immigration violations
  • has a passport that expires too soon
  • didn't use a previously issued visa at all without a valid reason (e.g., a trip cancellation due to a family emergency)
  • fails to demonstrate intent to return (for non-immigrants)


By method of issuance:

  • On-arrival visa (also known as Visa On Arrival, VOA), granted at a port of entry. This is distinct from not requiring a visa at all, as the visitor must still obtain the visa before they can even try to pass through immigration.
  • Electronic visa. The visa is stored in a computer and is electronically tied to the passport number; no label, sticker or stamp is placed in the passport prior to travel. Australia pioneered electronic visa issuance with the Electronic Travel Authority for tourists.

Transit Visa :

 There  are five transit point where we require a transit visa for Indian passport holder
  - London
 - Australia
 - USA
 - Canada
 - Double schengen

London :
 - If passenger is traveling anywhere in the world via London, would      require a transit visa, other then US, Canada.
 - In case of Airport change in London, passenger      need a transit visa .
 - As long as      passenger has  a confirm US or CANADA Visa, passenger does not      require any transit of London     unless transit time is exceeding more than 24 hours.

Australia :
Irrespective of  any routing if passenger is crossing Australia, would require a transit visa. There is no exception even if he is having a transit for a minute.
Like,  there is a flight of emirates which goes to Auckland non stop from Dubai however it take a technical halt at Sydney , though passenger does not need to get off the plane however he still require a transit visa

Irrespective of  any routing  if passenger is crossing USA , would require a transit visa. There is no exception even if he is having a transit for a minute.
Like  most of the Carrabin connection belongs to via point of US, therefore being a travel specialist you need to keep these things in your mind before selling any ticket to Carrabin via US

Canada :
Irrespective of  any routing  if passenger is crossing USA , would require a transit visa. There is no exception even if he is having a transit for a minute.
Double Schengen :  Double schenegan transit visa would be applicable in case if passenger is crossing more than one schengen city.